Tuesday’s Shot of Bourbon Trivia

The Kentucky Distillers’ Association originally formed in 1880, when 32 distillers met at the Galt House in Louisville and organized to protect bourbon from “needless and obstructive laws and regulations.” One pretty big obstructive law, Prohibition, led to the KDA’s demise. But after that nonsense ended, the KDA reformed in 1936. It now has 15 members: six heritage (large) distilleries, eight craft distilleries and the Distilled Spirits Epicenter in Louisville, an educational member. 

Those members will all be on hand for tomorrow’s KDA-sponsored All-Star Sampler at the Kentucky Bourbon Festival in Bardstown.

Source: KDA

Leave a Reply

The Bourbon Babe