Tuesday’s Shot of Bourbon Trivia

In light of yesterday (Oct. 28) being the 94th anniversary of the day Congress passed the Volstead Act over President Woodrow Wilson’s veto, thus beginning Prohibition, here is an interesting fact from Sam K. Cecil’s book, “The Evolution of the Bourbon Whiskey Industry in Kentucky”: Before Prohibition, there were 183 operating distilleries in Kentucky – 23 in Nelson County, 23 in Jefferson, 17 in Bourbon, 12 in Anderson and 10 in Franklin, with the others distributed throughout 26 other counties. Less than half would survive Prohibition.

Leave a Reply

The Bourbon Babe